Posted by: nativeiowan | September 17, 2014

Closing Time

I think of my “college days”, and smile… I lived and breathed academia for one full year of my life. But I lived in the collegiate environment for quite a bit. And one thing that was sadder than sad was “Closing Time”.

I can’t recall the names of the bars other than Joes Tap, Red’s, and the “Shamrock” in Independence. Or the bar in Rowley, perhaps “The Tap”? “The Keg” in Waverley. “Pazzaz” in Iowa City. The “Brass Rail” in Fort Dodge. I was reluctantly herded out of these and more when the 2am “Closing Time” bell rang.

Like those youthful collegiate days, it’s closing time for the Native Iowan and his blogging.

I suspect, like a good WWE wrestler, I’ll come back in a different disguise, but it’s time for me to go, smell the roses.

I started blogging because I had volumes of words that i wanted to “publish” / archive. I have achieved this.

The blogs I have up will stay alive. The tales and traumas are still fun to share.

And life is guuuuuuuudddddd.

Adios Amigos

Responses

  1. Ok Mike, thanks. I really enjoyed your writings, particularly keeping up with travels and life . Cheers Kevin

    On Wednesday, September 17, 2014, The Native Iowan wrote: > nativeiowan posted: “I think of my “college days”, and smile… I lived and breathed academia for one full year of my life. But I lived in the collegiate environment for quite a bit. And one thing that was sadder than sad was “Closing Time”. I can’t recall the names of the” >

    • Big Kev,

      Alll iss guuddd. And thanks for following. If you are ever in the Sunshine Coast region drop me a line. If ever heading back toward the isles the red carpet remains. These contacts will stay active.

      stay well and smile often


Leave a Reply

Categories

