Posted by: nativeiowan | March 6, 2014

My sleep patterns are completely disrupted

Its 233am. I am sitting in Pasadena, CA. Been here a couple of days. And my sleep patters are all messed up.

Part if it all is due to the 24 hours or so I went without sleep while traveling from Aus to LA. The flight was real good and comfortable and I simply chose to not really sleep. I watched  a bunch of movies and read to while away the 14 hours of flight time. I had slept little the night before I left. So by the time I checked into a hotel here in Pasadena I was pretty beat. I spent Sunday (after arriving at 6am and checking in about 8am) dozing and watching TV. It was rainy and cold so no chance of a walk. I ate little and napped a bunch and ended up sleeping real well that night.

Monday was real, real busy. I had heaps to do here in Pasadena and chose to walk everywhere I needed to be. All in all I covered miles. Got heaps done and made a dreadful mistake of having a burger and a couple of beers too early, 3 to 4pm, then came back and basically passed out. I woke about midnight and didn’t sleep again until 4 to 5 am.

So I slept in way late Tuesday, hit the streets by about 1pm and walked more and got a lot more done. very productive and I waited until about 6 to find a Peruvian kitchen and had a very spicy plate of fried rice. I was back and snoring by 8pm and awake and puttering by 2am. Another dawn nap, but I had an 830 meeting so up n going early, done by 11, then back for a couple more hours of nap time.

Was out agin this afternoon for a few hours but was back and worked from about 6pm onwards.

I have turned the lights off twice and tried to sleep. I’ve read and listened to music and worked some more.

Tomorrow is an easy day. Have a 12noon appointment so am happy to sit here, listen to the night sounds of the city, and putter some more.

I’ll comment on impressions and experiences in Pasadena in a later post. But thus far I like it here. It is a city and it noisier and more lit-up than I am used to but all in all the place has a good vibe. People are mostly open and cheerful. I’m a bit surprised that people make eye contact and say hello. Few are actually plugged into their earphones, ignoring the world around them.

Almost 3am… guess I’ll read some more…

more later

Leave a Reply

Categories

