Posted by: nativeiowan | September 23, 2012

aint no cure for those summer time bluezz

School break-time here in the land of Oz. Friday was the last day of school for 2 weeks. Only 10 more weeks of school and then it is full-blown summer time bluezz…

Keeping the kids busy and entertained during the break is a bit of a challenge. Most revolves around sufficient feed and water plus enough external stimuli to forestall any dramatic incidents.

Today, Sunday, is our second day of no school, no homework and long warm days that need to be fully occupied. Yesterday was easy. Today we feel the weight of the bluezz… Rayden and Issac were at the house by 9am. “We’re bored” is something that is voiced time and again. They were off to the school to play on the oval for a bit of time and, by the time they got back, I had used Nicole’s “pikelet” recipe and had a pile of edibles and a jug of apple juice waiting for the troops. Nic’s recipes are always great and this one, http://cauldronsandcupcakes.com/2012/09/22/nanas-pikelet-recipe-and-a-few-good-yarns/ , worked a charm. I modified the recipe and added a bit of cinnamon and vanilla extract to “sweeten” it all up.

We also have a pair of nesting plovers nearby. They appear to have just hatched 3 young’ns and are highly agitated. For those who don’t know plovers, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plover ,

They are basically bikers with wings… they have a bad attitude and will pretty much pick a fight with anything. Of course the boys, being boys, agitate the poor creatures into distraction. They are known to actually cause harm regularly to people who think they are “just a little bird”.

So we spent some time this morning with the binoculars watching the adults with their young rather than annoying them.

I then struck on one of those rare adult moments of genius… in prep for the weeks of idle time coming I suggested we clear part of the verandah and get all, ALL, the legos in one big toy-tub, then we build a real, real big lego scene over the next 2 weeks.

This idea was received with enthusiasm. So we cleared the deck, hosed and scrubbed it all down and will soon be starting a mega-lego-city.

In the mean time they are stuck in front of the Xbox. A position I understand little and like even less. But it is part of the modern life and it is allowed but I try to control it.

So two weeks of the summer time bluezz… Tomorrow we go out for a boat ride and some fishing. We’ll include some surfing lessons and some horse riding into the next few weeks. But, here at home, the lego-mega-city should be a good item to keep the domestic tranquility both tranquil and domestic.

All good…

94 Summertime Blues

Well, I’m gonna raise a fuss
I’m gonna raise a holler
‘Bout workin’ all summer
Just to try to earn a dollar
Well, I went to the boss man
Tried to get a break
But the boss said ‘No dice, son,
You gotta work late’

Sometimes I wonder what am I gonna do
‘Cause there ain’t no cure for the summertime blues

Well, my Mom and Poppa told me
Son, you gotta earn some money
If you want to use the care
To go riding next Sunday
Well, I wouldn’t go to work
I told the boss I was sick
He said ‘You can’t use the car
‘Cause you didn’t work a lick’

Sometimes I wonder what am I gonna do
‘Cause there ain’t no cure for the summertime blues

Gonna take two weeks
Gonna have a fine vacation
Gonna take my problem
To the United Nations
Well’ I went to my congressman
He said ‘quote’
‘I’d like to help you son,
But you’re too young to vote’

Sometimes I wonder what am I gonna do
‘Cause there ain’t no cure for the summertime blues

Responses

  1. I grinned and grinned to think of you cooking pikelets for your brood. How’s lego land going? xoxo

    • legoland is indeed a fun place for kids of all ages to hang. Big smiles…


Leave a Reply

Categories

