Posted by: nativeiowan | March 3, 2011

’bout bloody time…

Obama: Gaddafi must go

7:42 AM Friday Mar 4, 2011
US President Barack Obama. Photo / AP

US President Barack Obama says Libya’s Muammar Gaddafi has lost his legitimacy to lead and must leave.

The president said violence must end in Libya, where Gaddafi is violently attempting to put down an uprising.

Obama’s comments at a joint news conference with Mexico’s president were the first time Obama had appeared in person to call for Gaddafi to leave.

Obama also said he was directing humanitarian assistance to the Libyan border. And he said he had approved the use of military aircraft to help get Egyptians who had fled the uprising there back home.

Meanwhile, witnesses said one of Gaddafi’s warplanes had bombed the oil terminal town of Brega, 800km east of Tripoli, for a second day.

Brega is the site of a struggle for control of a strategically vital coastal road and oil industry facilities.

It is currently held by the rebel forces, but they are under intense pressure from the Libyan military.

“The bombs were just to frighten them to go away,” Gaddafi’s son, Saif al-Islam, said of the Brega air strike on Britain’s Sky News

 

Responses

  1. My first knowledge of the Solomons was my father, he was a aircraft mechanic there during WW2, and when he returned spent hours telling me what/how. I was born in New Zealand and am at present in Germany ( not for much longer ) I have spent most of my life traveling as I design and build yachts and have for the last 20 years worked for a shipyard in Italy.
    I would like to say that I came to your site via an article on wattsupwiththat posted by Willis Eschenbach, I can say at in all the corners of the world I have been I have never seen sunsets ( or photos ) that you have on your blog, have my own yacht and will be sailing to NZ later this year, I will be definitely passing the Solomons, when, I don’t know as this voyage will be my last adventure and it going to last a long as possible, but I have stolen one of your sunsets as a screen saver and it will stay there until I see a original,
    whatever you do have fun doing it
    hope to meet you some day
    Alan Chappell


Leave a Reply

Categories

